Monday, March 22, 2010

Beijing Drum Tower

Home / About us / Contact us / Flights

Beijing Tours
Beijing Tours With Hotel
Tours Without Hotel
Beijing Coach Tours
Beijing Great Wall Tours
Private One Day Tours
Beijing Theme Tours
Beijing Bike Tours
Beijing Cooking Tour
Beijing Honeymoon Tour
Beijing Half Day Tour
Beijing Kungfu Tour
Beijing Kids Tour
Beijing Night Tour
Beijing Limo Service
Beijing Airport Transfer
Beijing Railway Transfer
Beijing Car Rental
Xingang Port Transfer
Beijing Great Wall Tours
Great Wall Overnight
Private One Day Tour
Great Wall Car Rental
Great Wall & City Tour
Great Wall Coach Tour
Beijing Travel Guide
Beijing tours
Beijing Attractions
Beijing Entertainment
Beijing Shopping
Beijing Dinning
Beijing Transportation
Beijing Travel Tips

Beijing attractions
Home : Beijing Attractons

Beijing Drum Tower

The Drum Tower was built in1272 during the reign of Kublai Khan, at which time it stood at eh very heart of the Yuan capital Dadu. At that time it was known as the Tower of Orderly Administration (Qizhenglou). In 1420, under the Ming Emperor Yongle, the building was reconstructed to the east of the original site and in 1800 under the Qing Emperor Jiaqing, large-scale renovations were carried out.

In 1924, the name of the building was changed to the Tower of Realizing Shamefulness (Mingchilou) and objects related to the Eight-Power Allied Forces' invasion of Beijing.

May 30th Massacre of 1925 were put on display. Nowadays, the upper story of the building serves as the People's Cultural Hall of the East City District.
The first level of the Drum Tower is a solid square terrace four meters high, 55.6 meters long and 30 meters wide. The front and rear of the terrace are pierced with three arched openings and the two sides with one opening each. The broad, squat multi-eaved wooden structure built atop the terrace is impressive with its red wall and yellow glazed roof. In ancient days, the Drum Tower was the time keeping center for the whole city and was equipped with bronze clepsydras (water clocks) and drums that were beaten to mark the hours.

The four bronze clepsydras, which once functioned in the Drum Tower, were reputed to date from the Song Dynasty. Set between these four devices was a large bronze gong, which through a series of mechanical devices was linked to the water clocks and sounded each quarter of an hour. When the system of telling time with incense coils, which burned for hours were introduced, the clepsydras fell into disuse.



In ancient times the upper story of the building housed 24 drums, of which only one survives. Its head is made of an entire ox hide and is 1.5 meters in diameter. A sword score on the side of the drum is a souvenir of the Eight-Power Allied Forces' invasion of Beijing in 1900.

In the Qing Dynasty, the hours were marked at night beginning at 7:00 p.m., a procedure that was popularly called "setting the watch." At this hour, the drums were sounded 13 times. After the watch had been "set" in this fashion, each subsequent two-hour interval was marked by a single drum beat. Civil and military officials oriented their lives around these time signals.

At the sounding of the third watch (1:00 a.m.) officials attending the morning court audience rose from there beds and at the fourth (3:00 a.m.) assembled outside the Meridian Gate (Wumen). At the sounding of the fifth watch (5:00 a.m.) they entered the ImperialPalace and knelt on the Sea of Flagstones (Haimen) before the Hall of Supreme Harmony (Taihedian) to await instructions from the emperor.

Admission Fee:CNY 15 (Bell Tower)
CNY 20 (Drum Tower)
Opening Hours:09:10 to 17:00
Transportation:No.5, 60, 107, 124, 815, 819, 834 Buses;
Subway Loop Line (Line 2)

China Travel Compass, Your First and Best Choice for China Tour. (since 1989) ! About Us | Contact Us


Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the China Travel Compass User Agreement and Privacy Policy
@Copyright 1989 - 2008. All Rights Reserved to China Travel Compass

No comments:

Post a Comment